General information

Kyrgyzstan officially the Kyrgyz Republic is a country of Central Asia. Kyrgyzstan is a landlocked country with mountains terrain.

It is bordered by Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west and southwest, Tajikistan to the southwest and China to the east. Its capital and largest city of Bsihkek.

Kyrgyzstan’s recorded history spans over 2000 years, encompassing a variety of cultures and empires. Although geographically isolated by its highly mountainous terrain, which has helped preserve its ancient culture. Kyrgyzstan has been at the crossroads of several great civilizations as part of the Silk Road and other commercial and cultural routes. Though long inhabited by a succession of independent tribes and clans. Kyrgyzstan has periodically fallen under foreign domination and attained sovereignty as a nation-state only after the breakup of the Soviet Union in 1991.

Ethnic Kyrgyz make up the majority of the country’s 6 million people, followed by significant minorities of Uzbeks and Russians. Kyrgyz closely related to other Turkic languages, although Russian remains widely spoken and is an official language, a legacy of a century of Russification.

The majority of the population are non-denominational Muslims. In addition to its Turkic origins, Kyrgyz culture bears elements of Persian, Mongolian, and Russian influence.

Administrative divisions

Kyrgyzstan is divided into seven regions administrated by appointed governors. The capital, Bishkek, and the second largest city Osh are administratively independent cities with a status equal to region.


The 40-rayed yellow sun in the center of the flag represent the tribes that ones made up the entirety of Kyrgyz culture before the intervention of Russia during the Soviet Union. The lines inside the sun represent the crown or tunduk of a yurt, a symbol replicated in many facets of Kyrgyz architecture. the red portion of the flag represents place and openness of Kyrgyzstan.


Visa information

Kyrgyzstan is the most open country in Central Asia for tourist. Citizens from many countries can enter Kyrgyzstan without a visa, for period ranging from 10 days to unlimited stays. E-visas on arrival are available for visitors.


Climatic schedule

The climate in Bishkek is close to a temperate cold climate. The rain in Bishkek falls mainly in the winter, with relatively little rain in the summer. This place is classified as Dsa by Köppen and Geiger. The average annual temperature in Bishkek is 10.4 ° C. The average annual rainfall is 427 mm.

August is the driest month with 11 mm of rain. In April, precipitation reaches its peak, with an average of 74 mm.

July is the warmest month of the year. The temperature in July averages 23.9 ° C. At -3.6 ° C on average, January is the coldest month of the year.

Kyrgyzstan is very sunny country. Difference in climate, depending of a certain region, is very huge. Seasons are clearly degenerated.

Due to the fact that the territory of Kyrgyzstan located in mountainous area, contrast of temperatures is also very huge at the same area of the country. With the exception of areas of eternal frost temperature at summer and in winter is completely different at the same area of the country.

Kyrgyzstan is very far from seas and oceans and this exert a great influence on the climate of the republic.